Nowadays, some parents pressure their children to be successful in a specific field. What are the reasons for this? Is it negative or positive?

Today, programs related to science and technology are most adopted by students. Many parents force their kids to choose their careers based on these subjects. This essay will discuss how better opportunities and great pay rates are influencing people to choose these streams and I believe that it is a negative development. The major reason why guardians want their children to succeed in a particular field like science and Information technology is because these fields offer great benefits. Firstly, a person gets numerous options where he or she can choose the job which he or she is most intrigued. If a student graduates from an Information Technology program, for instance, can work in software or web development or cybersecurity and many more. Secondly, these fields pay more than the minimum pay grade to a fresher, which means in the initial years of a career that individual is earning more than what other sectors are offering to their inexperienced freshman, leading, to a higher probability of satisfaction in the job. Clearly, people decide their careers on the basis of opportunities and wages, so parents pressure their kids to succeed in those fields which mostly offer these two things. In my opinion, this is a negative development because forcing children to grow in that field which is their parent's choice is truly unfair. To explain further, everyone has different interests that an individual wants to pursue in his life. However, if parents start to decide about their children's career, then there will be a high chance that a child does not want to develop his interest in that field, resulting in, a waste of precious time with children, and also dissatisfaction with his job and life. In conclusion, this essay discussed how pay grades and opportunities are the major reasons that influence parents to force their kids to grow in a specific sector. I feel that this development does not work in the favour of children as they do not get a chance to decide the career they want to pursue in their lives.