Environment protection is the responsbility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some think that the onus of protecting the environment lies with the politicians and not on citizens since citizens can do too little. I totally agree with this statement because politicians can spread awareness among people about the benefits of saving the environment and they can spend large amounts of money. Government leaders can let people know about the benefits of saving the environment. That is to say that many individuals are unaware of the problem of environmental degradation, and the responsibility of making them aware lies with the government officials. For instance, the Indian government has started a campaign for reducing air pollution by letting people know about the detrimental impact of polluted air which resulted in a ten per cent reduction in air pollution. Therefore, I agree with the statement that saving the environment is the responsibility of politicians and not individuals. Further, the government have high finance as compared to the individuals. In other words, authorities have the treasury to make a large impact on saving the environment, and they can spend a colossal amount of money which a normal citizen cannot. For example, the Yamuna River was cleaned by the Delhi government in just 1 week which an individual cannot afford. Hence, I agree that public officials can make a huge impact on saving the environment compared to an individual. In conclusion, some say that the responsibility of saving the environment lies with politicians and not on individuals. I totally agree with this statement because government leaders can make citizens aware and they have huge finances.