Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool. To what extent do you agree with this?

Watching television for educational purposes has been becoming more popular, but some people argue that this can not take the place of books as an educational role for students. In my opinion, I agree with this statement, although television programs benefit kids’ education in some ways/ to a certain extent, books still are the best educational materials. On the one hand, it can not be denied that watching TV shows is effective for students to learn some subjects. First of all, educational programs on television can facilitate children in learning sciences because they are designed with appealing animations and music to help pupils acquire complicated and abstract concepts of sciences more easily than the traditional way. For example, live experiments on chemical or physical phenomena shown on television attract the interest of children, helping them by seeing the process they will understand this knowledge clearly. In addition, television programs are very useful for children when studying languages, especially listening skills and pronunciation. Compared to just/ plain/ tedious theories of textbooks, television programs show students the authentic spoken language with different accents, speeds and contexts so they can carry on real-life conversations. However, the belief that watching television can alter traditional books, in my view, is almost impossible. Firstly, the information and knowledge in books obviously are more in-depth than in television programs. This is because television broadcasts are limited by time constraints, but books are not. Therefore, students can get comprehensive, in-depth knowledge and detailed explanations when reading books. Another reason why books are better than television shows is the reliability of the content. The information in books must be censored strictly by the publishing company and the government, thus books are more guaranteed than television for students to access more accurate knowledge. In conclusion, although TV programs can facilitate students in learning sciences and languages, books are still more reliable in getting in-depth knowledge about all subjects. Therefore, reading books should be encouraged to help students get enough knowledge to prepare for their adulthood.