More and more people use private cars instead of taking public transport. What are the reasons for this trend? How can the government encourage people to take public transport?

Someone has rightly said - "The car has become an article of dress without which we feel uncertain, unclad, and incomplete". It is irrefutable that many individuals are using their own cars instead of travelling by buses and trains. In this essay, I shall discuss the reasons for this phenomenon and also suggest ways by which the government can motivate people to use public transport. There are many reasons for the increasing popularity of cars. Firstly, the car is the most convenient mode of transport. It takes a person from destination to destination and one does not have to waste time waiting for public transport, which is time-bound. Secondly, families can go out together and enjoy their outings more. What is more, one can halt anywhere one needs some refreshments. The car is also a blessing in times of emergencies when a sick family member has to be rushed to the hospital. Finally, because of the increased competition among automobile companies, cars have become affordable for the vast majority of people. For example, the basic models of the Maruti 800 and the Nano by Tata Company are called the poor man's cars. Many steps can be taken by the government to motivate people to use public transport. Firstly, the comfort of public transport could be made better. Secondly, the fares could be reduced and the frequency of public transport increased. In addition, people should be made aware of the problems, such as traffic congestion and pollution, caused by the increasing number of cars. Another way to stimulate public transport use is to make private car use more expensive and inconvenient. The introduction of tolls along urban motorways has been successfully employed in many cities. Other such measures such as high parking rates in urban areas could also help a lot. Faced with high costs or no place to park, people would perhaps be more willing to abandon their cars in favour of buses or trains. The construction of metro rail networks has also resulted in taking a substantial number of cars off the roads. To conclude, it can be said that there is no doubt that the private vehicle is gaining a lot of popularity, but if the government takes some steps to encourage public transport then definitely the use of cars can be reduced substantially.