Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. what damage does plastics do to the environment? What can be done by government and individuals to solve this problem?

Disposable product usage has become a prevalent habit nowadays, as they are practical and cheap. While plastic scraps are drastically detrimental to the ecosystem, there are measures that governments and citizens can take to prevent such menace. This will be further tackled in the lines below. To begin with, plastic is made out of fossil fuels and other additive chemicals and it might take centuries for them to decompose. In other words, it transforms into microplastics that dissolve in the cycle of the ocean's food chain, endangering marine wildlife and even exposing rare species to extinction. A grisly example of that is sharks, as scientists estimated that 100 million die each year from being stranded in commercial shipping nets. Nevertheless, it is the role of governments and local companies to limit selling plastic and offer affordable alternatives like linen bags for shopping and paper wrappers for packages. Furthermore, some undeveloped countries resort to waste disposal through the open burning of plastic, which is an overlooked source of air pollution. That is because the emissions released from the combustion are extremely hazardous to human health, leading to respiratory, skin and cancerous diseases. A study attributed 90% of black carbon emitted from burning litter to chemical toxicants that are synthesized in plastic. However, it is suggested that governments should internationally cooperate to initiate and subsidies enterprises that collect these streams of landfills from the oceans and recycle them in massive productive projects like building up roads and rockets or at least making second-hand plastic products instead of producing more plastic. In conclusion, despite that plastic products are indispensable, it is the duty of every individual in the community to preserve the environment.