In many countries large amounts of foods are wasted. Why do you think people waste food in this way? What can be done to reduce the amount of food thrown away?

It has been observed that in the contemporary world, food waste is a problem that needs people to pay attention to. This essay will further elaborate on the various factors that contribute to this phenomenon and raise some possible solutions. One significant reason is that people's mindset has changed from the past. As numerous advertisements and promotions have already penetrated our lives, various temptations are surrounding people. Everyone became restless, indulged in the excitement of consumption and lost the calm and serene state of mind they used to have. To solve this problem, the main action should be taken from people's daily habits or impulses. Customers should plan their meals and shopping lists carefully to avoid extra intake and waste. Another plausible interpretation is economic development. As the economy flourishes, people have wider access to food selection and acquisition. To satisfy people's appetites and preferences, the factories are producing more food than people need, which ends up throwing away the leftovers or expired food. Fortunately, the government can take some political measures to help with the situation. For example, impose stricter regulation of food quality and distribution and higher penalties on food waste. Also, there should be more encouragement for donating surplus food to charities or animal shelters to help recycle. In a nutshell, though the fundamental causes of food waste lie in people's inherent extravagance, there are still many viable solutions that people can adopt to prevent this issue from getting worse.