The tendency of news media to focus on problems and emergenciesrather than good news has a negative effect on individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Thanks to our smartphones and the 24/7 media cycle, we seem to be constantly bombarded by the news and, unfortunately, most of it is about disasters, attacks and tragedies. It has been argued that this negative focus within the media has a detrimental effect not only on individuals but on society as a whole. Personally, I strongly agree. In terms of individuals, the effects of this overwhelming amount of bad news in the media manifest in changes to our well-being and behaviour.First of all, mental health can suffer. When a person is continually absorbing news about crime, accidents and terrorism, for instance, they may begin to feel anxious and fearful. In serious cases, they may even suffer agoraphobia or panic attacks as a result. The sheer volume of bad news can also lead to feelings of hopelessness or even depression. The other issue is the changes in behaviour that stem from fear. After seeing hours and hours of footage of plane crashes or tsunami destruction, many people may feel reluctant to travel or simply try something new. This is a direct result of the media's bad news saturation. Obviously, such impacts also have a knock-on effect throughout society. As fear grows among individuals, so too does animosity, distrust, intolerance and, ultimately, conflict. Take terrorism reports as an example. When incidents such as 9/11 or the 2015 Paris attacks occur, the media runs footage constantly, and the coverage continues for days, sometimes months. In the aftermath of these events, public panic grows, and minority groups, unrelated to the incident, often suffer attacks and marginalisation. From an economic perspective, this fear-mongering can also lead to financial loss as people, crippled by anxiety, go out less and travel less frequently. In conclusion, while it is true that terrible things happen on a daily basis, it is the media's obsession with such tragedy that is problematic. This focus on negativity inevitably has serious effects on individuals ' mental health and lifestyles, as well as the cohesion of communities.