Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you thing this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, there has been a growing trend as people tend to solve their health problems with self-treatments instead of asking their doctors for help. I think that it is a negative development and in this essay, I will explain my point of view. Alternative solutions for health treatment have financial losses and effects on lives. When people choose the wrong way of treatment, they waste their money on procedures that might not have the desired result, therefore there is a financial loss for them. For instance, I have read a book about the dark side of traditional medicines. According to this book, traditional drugs are quite expensive as their effect on the sickness is insignificant. More importantly, these alternatives delay the procedure of the actual treatment. Consequently, people have to tolerate their illness for a longer period or in worse cases, their condition gets worse and may cost their lives. For example, my uncle passed away last year because of a simple flu. He thought if he drank herbal medicines he might get well, however, the infection spread over her body and killed him. It has been stated that alternative choices may have positive impacts including low costs. Although people may exclude doctors’ fees by prescribing their own drugs, they do not have sufficient knowledge to choose the correct medicines. As a result, they may use a tablet that can have detrimental effects in the long term. For instance, I used to buy painkillers for my back pain, however, after 6 months, I was diagnosed with a digestion problem because of excessive use of that drug. In conclusion, I believe that alternative drugs and procedures have detrimental results for people in terms of their lives and finances.