Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that any cities in the world are now "one big traffic" How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars.

Over the last few decades there has been a tremendous amount of people questioning traffic jams in the cities around the world. It is indisputable that these traffics are caused by overwhelming car ownership. Thus, a myriad of infrastructural changes and strategic marketing plans should be implemented by governments in order to solve the above mentioned challenge. Firstly, it has to be mentioned that nowadays car ownership is more a social demand, rather than necessity. Despite the fact that municipal infrastructure, including city bus, metro, trolley, is able to transfer citizens, people are more inclined to have their own cars. This action of people is mostly motivated by showing self-sufficiency for society. Therefore, excessive car ownership affects traffic congestion. Secondly, according to the World Health Organization, the world is facing unprecedented population increase and urbanization. Cities have become overcrowded anthills. Consequently, municipal roads, railways, highways demand an expansion every 2-3 years. However, due to the geometrical growth of population and cars, governments are not able to maintain infrastructure to meet the growing demand. Traffic problems require a systematic approach and strategic solution from municipal authorities. Particularly, governments should alter their focus on developing pedestrian facilities, such as bike roads, electronic bike systems, pedestrian zones, bus systems, and the metro. Relatedly, it has to be convenient, faster and cost-effective to utilize bus and bike systems in cities. Moreover, they should build a positive image of pedestrians, who are contributing to city development. To sum up, the last few decades can be described as a struggle of governments for reduction of traffic jams. This trend is unarguable and would have inevitable consequences unless plenty of systematic measures are implemented.