In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impacts of ageing populations.

Due to the tremendous progress in science and eventually in technology, a great shift in average life's duration was noticed. Despite being a positive tendency for the whole civilization there are some problems caused by this achievement on individual and society levels that could be tackled by implementing up-to-date policies. I will try to expand my thoughts in the following paragraphs. Firstly, the prolonged human life span dictated by human values and morals is the most important goal of our existence. However, the contemporary structure of the World economy is vulnerable to rapid disbalance of the workforce along with changes in lifestyle. For example, nowadays retired people live much longer than a century before. Moreover, relatives and children have to spend more time caring for and treating parents and grandparents. Deducing the consequences it becomes obvious that assets allocated to supply the pension are in deficit. Secondly, negative changes in the numbers of employed people deplete the budget as narrowed tax incomes are insufficient to cover benefits for old people. However, there is no other chance than to adapt and improve our economic and social systems. For instance, some countries transform their budget revenues towards social programmes that are assigned to improve life conditions simultaneously for retired people and their relatives. In other words, investing in today's young people in order to supply modern education and consequently well-paid jobs is one of the possible solutions. The other approach to benefit from prolonged life expectancy is to employ a portion of retired people in the most crucial fields. To conclude, while there are some issues caused by increased life span such as insufficient funds and pressure on family members, in my opinion, changes in fiscal and labour legislation could tackle the danger of depleted resources in future.