Many believe that being good at a sport is a result of talent while others think that it comes from hard work. Discuss both use and give your reason.

Throughout history, prowess in sports has always been considered a blessing, though time and time again, the topic of hard work versus talent has always been a debatable one in society. While some believe that some of us are just born with innate abilities to dominate in physical activities, others believe that it's perseverance through each and every day that gets us to success in sports. On the one hand, it can be argued that an individual's natural ability in sports is the biggest factor that leads to success. This is because these people aren't wasting any time getting used to the feeling of playing the game. It's almost as if their foundations were already rock solid before they started unlike many others, and thus more time and energy can be dedicated to perfecting their craft and honing their skills over time, putting them a cut above the rest. As an example, a survey done between the Ivy League schools has shown that over 60% of the top athletes of the schools spend most of their time training in new techniques and skills that can be used as an advantage instead of going over the basics again and again. Most of them explained their reasoning in that the basics of the sports they play came as second nature to them, so dedicating time to other aspects proves to be more efficient. On the other hand, others instead choose to have faith in the gruelling nonstop training process that over time would create a top athlete. This belief stems from the fact that putting in the effort to train day by day, makes people feel like they are in control of the situation where their actions in the present would be the direct cause for future progress, instead of having everything pre-determined by luck. Not only that, it's logical to believe that if we don't put in the work for anything, even if we have talent, that potential would remain untouched as we haven't put the work in to do so. Research conducted by New York University illustrates this pretty well as when reviewing the track record of 100-star athletes in a variety of sports, they noticed how 40% of proclaimed geniuses consistently ranked below athletes who are known for their rigorous training programs. This just goes to show that talent can only take you so far. In conclusion, even though it's common thought that being good at sports is mainly due to innate talents, it has been proven on other occasions that it's hard work that outshines talent. Personally, I believe that there are many different ways to achieve the same outcome of excellent achievements, especially in sports where both talent and hard work play a big role. However, to truly reach new heights of accomplishments, I think that a balanced combination of talent and hard work is necessary to stand atop all others.