In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people.

Nowadays, the life expectancy is longer than before. Although many argue that the more elderly people live, the more drawbacks will be brought about by the government, I am more inclined toward its positive side. On the one hand, an ageing population creates problems for governments. Firstly, the system is supposed to spend more money. In other words, these old individuals require not only a pension but also insurance. As a result, the government should allocate a great proportion of its budget to these people. For example, those retired civil servants will still receive their pension from the government, however they are not producing anything. Secondly, the overpopulation of senior citizens affects the military power of a country as well. If fewer young people exist in a nation rather than elderly ones, fewer human resources will be available for the military, thus it will be weakened. On the other hand, there will be several benefits if a society has more old people. Initially, old people are more experienced rather than juveniles, so they can pass their experience to the next generation. To be more specific, the elderly population is considered as a main resource of knowledge in a country, hence they are able to guide youngsters. To exemplify, when a teen person tends to begin a business, he can first ask for an old individual’s advice. Moreover, aged people are one of the main ways of studying history. Due to their age, they have witnessed many events in the past, which makes them a first-hand source of information about those incidents. In conclusion, despite the notion regarding the disadvantages that the ageing population causes, I believe the advantages of this situation outweigh the downsides.