The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed that the topic of the main agenda of scientific discoveries is to better people's lives. I moderately agree with that notion and will give my rationale. In today's age, science has far surpassed what was of the 20th century,, including the advancement of medical discoveries. Take the black death as an example; with founded knowledge of sanitation and the development of medications, the plaque that everyone in the 19th century feared is now a long-forgotten memory. Recent events, most notably the COVID-19 Pandemic (bỏ which), forced people to develop a vaccine as soon as possible, decreasing casualties by millions. With that being said, scientific advancement in the medical field has significantly contributed to the improvement of human beings. On the other hand, leaving room for other agendas is also a must because it may also indirectly add positively to the lives of people. For instance, Space X is a well-known organization that is finding a way to space travel and, in the future, maybe to sustain life on Mars. Though starting out with the goal of living on Mars, the founder, Elon Musk, did stumble through challenges, but with the rise of the company, other inventions have been born and made our lives improve, such as electric cars, funding for anti-hunger movements, and so on. It can be seen that with the pursuit of other aims, science can indirectly change the way people live better. In conclusion, with or without aiming for the betterment of human civilization, scientific discoveries always find a way to make a positive impact on our lives.