‘Nowadays, news companies spend a lot of money covering international news. However, local news is more relevant to people’s lives and should receive more funding.’ To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Media companies are spending a huge amount of money for servicing international news. There is a debate about whether local news should receive more funding because it is more related to local inhabitants lives. My point of view is in the middle between these ideas. As a citizen, I always follow up on updated news in my country and also in my city. I would like to learn what municipality recently has built or opened new facilities such as theatres, parks, schools or leisure activities around me. Additionally, I would like to get some information about news such as weather forecasting, and folks in my city who need help even if violent news to take precautions. Therefore, local media is important and they have to get enough money to stay alive. However, I believe that international news is as important as local news. People are aware of the news which has been occurring in the world via international channels such as tragic information due to war or natural disasters. For example, A big earthquake happened in February 2023 in the southeast of Turkey. There was a huge devastation and, unfortunately, lots of people lost their lives due to the collapsed buildings. The needs of surviving people have been informed through the international media. All countries gave their support after the earthquake for searching people and sheltering survivors. In conclusion, all the media sources are important for people. I firmly believe that the most important thing is that these companies whether local or international should give the news in a correct manner. That means they have to be independent and straightforward aspect. They have to have enough financial resources to be independent. Therefore, financial sources and funding should be shared according to their needs.