Today, children and teenagers are committing more crimes. Why is this case? How should they be punished?

More violent content in the media and the lack of correct guidance from parents are to blame for kids and young people all around the world. There are several punishments which should be utilized to prevent crimes. First of all, parents are too busy earning money without caring about their role of looking after the children. Therefore, youngsters who lack education and supervision from parents are more likely to be tempted and commit crimes. Secondly, with the development of excessive media, juveniles have better access to the Internet and television, and they tend to imitate violent behaviours from movies. To be more specific, youngsters who enjoy such films eventually lose their sense of reality and no longer take crimes as violence seriously, which may lead to their illegal actions.To illustrate,in Vietnam, there was recently a lad who was addicted to mobile games and was unlikely to restrain himself, leading to a painful murder. In addition, games or virtual media perhaps is one of the detrimental justifications. Finally, because of being born into a poor family, many teenagers engage in criminal activities so that they can have money to satisfy necessary demands themselves. On the other hand, I believe that there are various applicable penalties for juvenile offenders. The first one could be community service or other unpaid work as punishment for a crime which is minor in nature. The goal of this is to train the youth to work for others in providing a service to the community and improve the neighbourhood in most circumstances, thus they can understand the value of helping people and being a good member of society. For example, many vocal training centre in Vietnam was established to create jobs for the poor and orphaned children and help them become good citizens. Another compatible penalty could be the blended sentence for teens whose crimes are serious. Such a sentence will condemn minors to complete their sanctions even if they are under 18 years old since many of them have the conception that they may not be prosecuted due to their age. As a result, young offenders and other adolescents would learn the lesson that they cannot commit delinquent activities at any age. In conclusion, I think that the growth of crimes among teenagers has been a worrying trend, which causes negative impacts on society and individuals. Therefore, these problems must be tackled soon because of our future young generation.