In some countries young people are encouraged to work or tavel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

A new alternative after high school has started to become more popular in recent years, and that is to take a gap year before officially starting university studies. There are different pros and cons to this approach, which I will be discussing in this essay. On the one hand, there are several advantages that can be derived from travelling and working a year before starting higher level education. One of these advantages is how it gives young people a chance to experience the real world, gaining life skills for themselves in the process which would give them an added boost when compared to other university undergraduates. Having this experience that no schools can teach would make them more attractive to university admissions offices or potential employers. This is shown through a survey by Forbes, where it's estimated that over 70% of employers would prefer an individual with added life experience and soft skills rather than specialised knowledge. These employers all said this is because it's much easier to do training for technical knowledge and skills compared to interpersonal skills. On the other hand, there are a number of drawbacks when pursuing this path of dedicating a year to developing oneself. One obvious drawback is the potential risk of demotivation of going back to formal education. There's always a possibility of finding your break too distracting or interesting to want to leave all that behind and return to school properly, which makes it more difficult to obtain a degree which can aid in finding a job. In fact, research done by the University Of California, Berkeley predicts that around 40% of people who opted for a gap year, never actually returned to formal education. Being disincentivised to obtain a degree can lead to the risk of being economically dependent in the future, due to being unemployed. In conclusion, taking a year off to focus on travel or work experience after high school does have the potential to bring with it plausible benefits but at the same time, we shouldn't overlook the downside when choosing this option to be able to decide what is best for each individual separately.