In many workplaces, online communication is getting more common than meeting face to face. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is quite common these days for virtual meetings rather than real-life meetings. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this trend. On the one hand, there are several reasons why having online conferences is beneficial. A common reason is the convenience for both parties. For example, doing virtual communication reduces the need for travelling as it can be done anywhere at any time. Another factor can be the useful accessibilities from technological advancements. This means that meetings accessible by computer can be practical and beneficial in the case of the available tools online. On the other hand, there are a number of disadvantages of virtual appointments that people should take into consideration. One obvious drawback is that it minimizes the immediate response due to the risk of inadequate network. Another negative effect is the lack of expression and realisticness that can only be seen in real-life conferences. An example of this is the decrease in realistic facial expression that is portrayed in face-to-face meetings. In conclusion, online appointments could bring about certain benefits, but their negative consequences should not be overlooked. My view is that conversations through virtual screens can result in more benefits than disadvantages.