In many countries, people are now living hunger than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantage of having an aging population outweigh the disadvantages?

In the contemporary age, the social value of elderly people lies at the heart of mainstream issues. Some advocate ageing population generate problems for the government while others believe that the general public can benefit notably from their old associates. I firmly stand with those who hold the latter view, thus I believe the advantages of having senior citizens in society completely outweigh the disadvantages. Admittedly, with the evolution of the ageing population, the government has to invest increasing capital resources in social welfare, including health care, pensions, and related areas, along with the fact that older individuals no longer participate in procreative activities. However, those who retired have dedicated most of the time of their life to social contributions by engaging in work, paying taxes, raising kids, and the like. As a result, they deserve to be taken care of by the government and the community. In addition, although old citizens stopped engaging in socially productive matters, they still possess the capacity to participate in other activities that can benefit plenty of people. To be more specific, nowadays, the increasing working pressure has deprived the young generation of time as well as energy to look after their own children or families, leading to a lot of individuals seeking help from their retired parents. Furthermore, accompanied by advanced medical care, it is more and more common to see elderly residents possess good health conditions, which allows them to travel as well as engage in social work. All of these activities are essential matters in our society. To recapitulate, even though the elderly generation has consumed a significant amount of capital from the authorities, the advantage of having elderly associates in our community is even more important. Only when we view the older generation properly and judiciously can we achieve the shared ambition of building a fairer and sustainable society for all individuals.