Global warming is one of the biggest threats humans face in the 21st Century and sea levels are continuing to rise at alarming rates. What problems are associated with this and what are some possible solutions.

Climate change has recently emerged as the principal danger to humanity, and sea levels are rising dramatically. This problem leads to flooding people’s houses, loss of agricultural land, and displacement. Fortunately, there are some ways in which this issue can be curtailed. The foremost problem caused by rising sea level is the flooding of residences. Millions of people worldwide live in coastal areas, and if the sea rises by even a few feet, they will be inundated with water and lose their property. For example, according to the United Nations report, the rise of around 30cm might affect 40 million houses near the coastal area. The solution is for the government to build flood defenses such as dikes, dams, and floodgates along coasts and waterways. One good example of this measure is Holland. To keep low-lying land free of water, they use dikes to keep water out. Another menace is that agricultural land is shrinking due to saltwater intrusion. Global warming will influence yields, while tide rise can inundate producing lands. The most severely affected countries are the developing ones, which rely on agriculture for their economy. The increasing sea-level serves as a threat amplifier, especially in regions with dense populations and heavy reliance on coastal agricultural infrastructure. More importantly, global food security is in danger. The answer is for the cooperation of all countries to find alternative crops for the future. Last but not least, the sea rise level may force millions of households to relocate. Natural disasters such as hurricanes, tsunamis, and high tides threaten the lives of many vulnerable coastal communities. We tend to watch many cities, even nations, disappear entirely. The way forward could be to forecast the highly affected areas and to move people to safer places. To sum up, our planet is put in danger because of the climate crisis and the sea increase catastrophe. This is a severe problem; without multiple solutions, the human will suffer. We need to find more answers on adapting to the change and to stem the global heating.