Some people think that government should tax unhealthy foods to encourage people to eat healthier. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Some pupils believe that authorities should tax unhealthy meals to motivate people to consume healthier. I personally disagree with this notion and will elucidate my opinion in the following paragraphs. To begin with, tax, in general, is a continuous struggle for most people, It is believed that paying taxes can be a burden,especially for the lower-income group of society. For instance, someone who works as a teacher with a moderate salary can barely survive to fulfil the essential expenses, let alone pay taxes. Moreover, unhealthy foods are way cheaper than healthier ones, therefore, all people from different classes can buy these foods,especially students who are still not obligated to pay taxes. With that statement, it is unnecessary to make folks pay taxes for unhealthy food. On the other hand, there are other alternatives to encourage pupils to start eating healthy foods other than increasing the tax bills. To give an example, people nowadays like to go to the gym because it is more fun to become healthy in that way, therefore it is better to give free access to gym facilities for people to enjoy. In another case, since healthy foods can be expensive, the government should start lowering the price so that people can be motivated to eat more healthy meals. To summarize, the authorities can have plenty of alternatives to encourage people rather than increasing the tax rate. To sum up, paying taxes is a burden to society, therefore, I strongly disagree that the government have people pay taxes merely for unhealthy meals. Besides, various methods to promote healthy eating can easily be made with a thorough discussion and rigorous effort from the power maker of a country and the minister of health.