The best way to reduce poverty in developing countries is by giving up to 6 years of free education, so that they can at least read, write and use numbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, poverty is one of the considerable problems that developing countries have to deal with. A set of society believes that offering a tuition-free period of school for the first 6 years would be effective in enhancing the economic state of the region. Personally, I partly agree with this argument due to several reasons as demonstrated in the rationale that follows On one hand, It is worth noticing that the process of reducing the rate of illiteracy could be eased by the idea of free tuition, which plays an important role in contributing to the economic status of the country. To be precise, citizens could access the door of opportunities for comprehensive competency, particularly women and children who can be victims of marginalized discriminatory practices and not escape from poverty due to the shortage of education or vocational training. With a concrete foundation in basic knowledge, any group in society can not only enhance critical thinking but also sharpen skills such as management, leadership or supervising, all of which potentially allow the power to take up space in society and strengthen the country’s well-being and prosperity. On the other hand, offering free education for a long period of time could be a financial burden for the government if they have an insufficient budget since they have to fund all the activities and infrastructures required. For example, the authority holds accountability for covering all expenditures regarding teachers’ salaries, cost of equipment and other facilities to ensure that every child is able to access the free-of-charge learning system. This could result in the rise of taxes or reduction of funding for other sectors, such as healthcare systems, transportation or retirement funds, to ensure the budget distribution is adequate and stable for this long-term objective. In conclusion, providing six years of free literacy is an essential factor to enhance the growth of developing countries. However, the government should take the financial sector into consideration to ensure the demand for all the sectors of society is equally satisfied.