Currently there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective, and at worst they may be dangerous. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

There are various forms of medicine. Obviously all forms of drugs are without side effects. Some people believe whilst alternative medicines may not be effective, others say they have undesiderable effects on human health. I partly agree with this idea. To begin with, I can understand why people do not have confidence in other forms of medicine. This is because the products of such drugs are from sources with unknown research or experimental background. It is common knowledge that most of the manufacturers of such drugs have little or no scientific knowledge and may have only learnt about how the drug worked on individual basis for which they wrongly extrapolate to the general population. Based on personal experiences they quote that a single drug can cure several disease conditions. To illustrate this, my mother purchased a herbal preparation a fortnight ago and was told it could cure headaches, stomach aches, urinary tract infection and pneumonia. To probe further, she asked for an online source to read more on the product and was told there wasn't such reference as the witnesses are the users of the medication. Steming from the above stated reason, it is logical why people do not have faith in such treatments. Also, very little information is known about the side effects of such drugs. Practically, these unpleasant effects are rarely stated on the packaging and individuals are left to the peril of experiencing what is not known as and when they use the product. Several surveys have revealed the shock some herbalists express when informed about an unwanted side effect of their products. This highlights the very limited knowledge of such products and the fact that the experimental stage of it is unfortunately being used on real humans. To sum up, I strongly agree that alternative forms of medicine may generate unpleasant effects in it's users and sometimes may not even work.