It was common in the past for people to retire at 60. Now more and more people are choosing to continue working past the official retirement age, with some countries even increasing the official age of retirement. Do you agree or disagree with this change? Why?

It is a general trend to work even after the age of retirement these days. It has become so common that companies are officially changing the retirement age and extending it. There are multiple factors favouring this change such as easiness of work due to advancements in technology, physical and mental well-being in old age, fewer health issues, and financial freedom. I agree with this incoming change due to these favouring factors. In the older days, most of the work done was physical and tiring, and hence people tend to retire at the age of 60 to take a rest from their hard work. Whereas nowadays, most of the work is done on computers and technology has made the work easier. Therefore, people can continue working in their old age with ease. For instance, most of the human resources and administration-related work can be easily carried out by sitting in one place on a computer, it just requires experience in that field. Another important factor that supports this trend is that people try to remain healthy in their old age. By continuing to work, they can remain physically and mentally active and hence diseases will remain away from them. Not only health perspective but economically they become independent in their old age. As they continue to earn for a longer duration of their age, they are financially stronger than the rest of the people who adopt for retirement at an early stage. In conclusion, retiring at a later stage in life has numerous advantages, hence a lot of people and companies are opting for it. I strongly agree with this concept of increasing the official age of retirement in many countries because of the benefits it provides.