Nowadays, most countries improve the standard of living through economic development. But some social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of the phenomenon outweigh the disadvantages?

It is debatable whether economic development empowers society for the good or it loosens the attachment of community. Despite the strong opinion stating that spiritual and emotional values will be lost in the rise of the economy, I surely believe that within the era of innovation and development, people will benefit from it one way or another. To begin with, there are tons of opportunities for improvement that come along with the growth of the economy. People ’s lives are enriched through many aspects such as education, health, and hospitality. For instance, more capital can be invested in building public schools, applying more advanced technologies in treating patients, and upgrading customer services and facilities in the service industry. Moreover, this also means that the funds for cultural conservation will be widened, helping preserve historical places and cultural heritage. In contrast, the main reason for the negativity towards economic growth is its consequences of creating materialism and individualism. In order to endure the development of the economy, people have to work hard to make more money, the more money transactions being made, the greater impact it will have on the economy. However, this creates a “9 to 5” working habit which exhausts workers and also limits the time for individuals to enjoy social life. Therefore, with hard-earned currency, people tend to be more selfish with material values and do not want to share with others. To conclude, economic development furnishes people with improvement in many fields and positively affects living standards. Although there are some downsides to this phenomenon, they would rather be minor inconveniences in people ’s lives.