The government should ban smoking in all public places even though this would restrict some other people’s freedom?Do you agree or disagree?

While smoking increases the risk of health issues, it's one's freedom to choose such action. However, smoking in public is a different situation, considering it may affect others' well-being and leave several negative impacts. Some argued that this behavior should be strictly banned while others contended that it harms the will of freedom. While imposing such laws has its advantages, I agree with the latter and believe that the concerns of smoking in public can be minimized through alternative ways instead of mandatorily regulated. On the one hand, smoking in public areas not only jeopardizes citizens' health but also damages city views in general. Reports have revealed that consuming a certain amount of second-hand smoke could lead to detrimental and irreversible consequences on individuals, such as lung cancer, mental disorders and so on. Hence, implementing a strict law towards the action of smoking in open areas can definitely reduce the risk of such diseases. Moreover, people tend to litter cigarettes on the streets or sidewalks, damaging the urban scenery. Therefore, setting laws against people who smoke in open places ensures society's safety and beauty. On the other hand, forbidding individuals from smoking in public is disadvantageous due to the downfall of rights and limited effects. All levels of human beings have the right to act on their own and take responsibility for their actions. Additionally, imposing such laws can only cause a backlash and make those situations worse. To efficiently achieve the goal of improving social health and maintaining the cleanliness of the urban view, the government can designate a restricted range for smoking. For example, there are numerous 'smoking-only' indoor booths on the streets of Japan, allowing those who desire to smoke in open spaces without threatening the pedestrians' well-being or tosing cigarettes elsewhere. In conclusion, noticing the potential risk of smoking in public and seeking possible ways to prevent it are indisputable. Yet, blindly forcing people to stop smoking will not only undermine one's freedom but also reduce the willingness to follow it. Therefore, only by looking for alternative ways can fully achieve its original goal.