In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems? What measures could be taken to solve them.

It is said that the mean weight of individuals in some countries is reaching a worrying level, and the level of fitness and health are falling. I believe that exploring the causes of this problem can assist in finding suitable solutions to resolve it. In my opinion, people's lifestyles could partly account for the mentioned problem. Nowadays, having a tight schedule because of responsibilities at work, most people find it difficult to incorporate exercise into their daily routine. Moreover, excessive use of technology by pupils can also lead to a similar result, which is a sedentary lifestyle and gaining weight. If governments encouraged people to exercise, this issue would be resolved. In this regard, several incentive regulations can be enforced so as to encourage both employees and students to attend gyms to burn off calories and lose weight. For example, governments can provide well-built residents with free public transportation services or museum tickets. It is believed that individuals' diets can also explain why their health levels are declining. Having to meet several deadlines, people fail to dedicate time to cooking, and they indulge in fast food and fatty foods, which lead to several health problems, such as obesity. To address this issue, public awareness about the consequences of following poor eating habits should be increased. As it says, knowledge is power. Thus, were people aware of the health risks of eating unhealthy food on a regular basis, they would think twice and follow a sensible eating plan, which not only can improve their physical stamina but also boost their mood. To conclude, in my view, even though following poor diets and unhealthy lifestyles can contribute to the deterioration of society's well-being in certain countries, governments can remedy the situation. I believe raising public awareness and encouraging people to exercise are steps in the right direction.