In many countries, people are now living longer than before. Some people say an ageing population creates proplems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantges?

It is clear that in the recent years, the advances in heath departments, especially in the developed countries, have led to increase in the number of the senior citizens. While some people believe that the increasing elderly population has its advantages, others argue that it can be a problem. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and explain my support for the latter view. Those who believe that the growing number of the elderly in socities has its benefits, would argue that they can be benefical for the development and maintaince of the structure of society. Moreover, they could have loads of professional and civil experience to share with the younger generations. As a result, the youth will have the proper guidance to help develop their countries effeciently. Therefore different countries would benefit from their old population, if they decided to let them help in the right way. However, I would argue that the ever-increasing aging population numbers can cause a lot of economic and social proplems. For example, they will increase the total number of the population, increasing the carbon footprint as a consequence. Also, this can cause a lot financial burdens on the other age populations. This is because governments will have to be responsible to pay pensions and financial aids to the senior citizens, so that will be reflected on the other sectors of the population,making them pay more taxes. In addition, they can hinder the wheel of normal progression by opposing new and different ideas. In conclusion, although elderly population can offer spiritual and some economic benefits for socities, I believe that the drawbacks of the economic and environmental impacts outweigh the benefits.