Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that talking with criminals who have turned their lives around after serving a prison is good for teenagers to get an insight into the consequences of breaking laws. Personally, I entirely concur with this opinion due to the lack of efficiency of other alternatives and the general tendency of teenagers. To begin with, having a conversation with the ex-prisoners is fitted with the general youngsters' tendency. It is undeniable that most youngsters are extremely keen to hear the stories of those who had experiences, especially those who spent part of their lives serving in prison due to their law-breaking behaviours. Thanks to these opportunities, ex-prisoners could vividly present what they had undergone as well as the dark side of their lifestyle in the past, which completely reverses the glamorous lives that the younger thought it would be. This would help the young have a practical view of life and deter them from law-breaking activities. Moreover, this kind of knowledge is hard for teenagers to acquire if it remains just theoretical, so talking to reformed offenders, in comparison with other alternatives, will make their ideas clarified and more effective. Besides, the alternatives which educate about crime would apply less effectively. In terms of parental guidance, many parents are likely to neglect to inform their children about laws. Meanwhile, the option for teachers or police officers to visually discuss punishments for lawbreakers is prone to be more acknowledged but the teenagers are often reluctant to take this advice. Eventually, influencers and celebrities might play an important role in legal education, but this method itself has no opportunity for young people to interact and ask questions, leading to insufficient knowledge and even reverse reactions. In conclusion, I definitely agree with the opinion that talking with ex-prisoners who turned their lives around later would be an appropriate approach to deter young people from committing crimes.