A recent survey shows that in many countries across the world people are generally living longer. But an increased life expectancy has many implications for the aging individuals and for the society as a whole. What are the possible effects of a longer life expectancy on individuals and the society?

There exists a global tendency that people are universally expected to live longer. The enhancement of life expectancy will influence both personal and social development. However, the potential impacts on both sections need in-depth consideration. A discussion of this issue as well as my thoughts will be highlighted in the write-up. Initially, the front and the centre effect is the imperative demand for a comprehensive ageing care system. This is not only the responsibility of individuals but also of the authorities. The government needs to implement some policies to support the nursing service for the elderly. Therefore, it is possible to bring problems to the distribution of public expenditure. Moreover, the youth have to spend more time and income on taking care of their parents which may lead to conflicts between careers and families. Thus, the governmental strategy plays a vital role in solving these problems otherwise it may trigger some counterproductive outcomes. At the other end of the spectrum, the postponement of retirement may raise the rate of unemployment. As the trend of delaying retirement considerably increases, youngsters will face a crucial environment which is the lack of job vacancies. From the perspective of seniors, they require sufficient financial preparation after leaving their work. By contrast, young inhabitants demand job opportunities to afford family expenses. Hence, the long-term benefits for both areas ought to be included in social welfare. To sum up, according to the aforementioned, an extended life expectancy apparently affects the allocation of social resources including the aspects of medical systems and job markets. It is essential that governments should consider the priorities of social allowance and policies so as to best serve the interests of the public.