Many museums charge for admission, while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Some museums charge an entrance fee while others do not. This essay discusses that the drawbacks of charging an admission fee do not outweigh the benefits because, although it may restrict the accessibility of some people, entrance fee enables museums to remain open with improved facilities. On the one hand, the disadvantages of charging a fee at the entrance may exclude low- income populations from visiting such places. There are some people who can't allocate money for leisure and entertainment as their income is only sufficient to fulfill their basic needs.In such incidents, this act may indirectly violate their right to entertainment. For instance, many low- income families who only receive about 1000 Lankan rupee per (LKR) a day cannot afford the average entrance fee of 500LKR to visit the Colombo Museum. However, I believe that receiving an income will be beneficial for maintaining the facilities of museums. On the other hand, the income generated from entrance tickets strengthens the income of museums as many of them do not receive government funding. The income generated through this can be utilized to maintain and pay wages for staff including security and other essential tasks. For instance, most of the government funding allocated for museums was cut down during the financial crisis in Sri Lanka and therefore many of the places tended to close permanently due to the non-availability of any other ways of funding. In conclusion, although the idea of charging an entrance fee excludes low- income families from enjoying those facilities, I believe that it is a better solution for museums to remain open with improved facilities, therefore the advantages of charging an entrance fee in museums do not outweigh the benefits.