With the rise of E-books comes the decline in paper books.Some people see this as a good steps forward while others do not.What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

The E-book is now a popular option available compared to paper books. Not only is it lighter than paper books, but it is also environmentally friendly. This phenomenon has also made paper books decline in selling volume, which affects the paper industry and its derivatives. While it is good to have e- books available for a less carbon footprint, it also has advantages and disadvantages. Below, I will discuss the pros and cons of the rise of e- books. First, let's talk about the advantages of e- books. E- books do not need paper to produce an e-book. Thus, it has reduced the human dependency on paper in a part. This can significantly reduce carbon footprints from the paper industry which extracts timber from cutting paper -woods. This also would lead to less forest industry that needs to be cut down during the harvesting area and leave a large part of the forest with no trees for quite some months, somehow years. Secondly, the rise of e- books also has some disadvantages. Books that now exist on iPads or tablets will increase the screen-time of people spend on a tablet. Increasing screen time on electronic devices means it will demand more energy that comes from electricity. Increased demand for electricity will also affect the need for coal or gasoline which would lead to an increase in air pollution in the city. To summarize, the excellent impact of e- books that reduce the need for paper also means increasing the need for other types of resources, mainly electricity, and coal as energy sources. The e- books may reduce human dependency on paper, but it has also created a new dependency on a higher need for electricity to read a book. The increase in popularity of e- books might teach us a lesson, that the new technology may have advantages. Still, it also has disadvantages that happen when we shift to the new technology.