In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is sometimes argued that all types of four-wheel vehicles will be automated to self-drive and the need of drivers will be eliminated. While there are some drawbacks to the removal of drivers, I maintain the opinion that the strengths will likely be more significant. On the one hand, the idea of giving full permission for artificial intelligence to manoeuvre vehicles is disadvantageous to some extent. Unlike a human, artificial intelligence needs a system to operate and if there are malfunctions in the operating system, A.I would likely fail to make decisions, which eventually put passengers at risk. This can be exemplified in the case of Tesla, in which hundreds of accidents and crashes have been reported due to the use of the Autopilot feature. Therefore, the development of A.I play a vital role in the implementation of driverless vehicles, or else automated vehicles would likely cause severe damage to passengers and other vehicles around them. On the other hand, this practice can highlight a number of valid benefits. Firstly, it could contribute to the reduction of staff costs in the transportation industry. Currently, there are thousands of 4-wheel vehicles operating on the street owned by service providers and by cutting off the engagement of drivers, these providers would be able to save a huge amount of money annually. The second advantage is the elimination of human factors. For example, on certain occasions, the lack of public transit bus drivers due to sickness or the lack of staff will cause inconvenience to people. However, this problem can be tackled by driverless technologies. In conclusion, this trend might possess many disadvantages. However, I am more inclined to the view that the advantages will likely prevail.