More and more people today want to buy goods, such as clothes and smartphones, with well-known brand names. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, people tend to use and buy gadgets like smartphones with high-end brands. In this essay, I will explain why they consider doing this and illustrate why I think it is a positive trend. One of the popular reasons why many people prefer purchasing items like clothing and smartphones, with world-famous brand names is because they have fabulous reputations. The customers share their experiences about the quality materials which are chosen to produce the phones make them tough and last longer than regular materials. For example, according to research, 90% of Thais who are using iPhones bought them due to the quality materials, design and after-sale services from the company's reviews by reading magazines, blogs or YouTube videos so Apple has more and more customers. Besides, It is a positive development to choose well-known brands, since they help the environment by reducing the number of waste. This is because products like iPhones last for years, and the after-sale services are also fantastic. For instance, I bought my iPhone in 2016, and I had used it for 11 months before it started having a speaker problem, however I went to the Apple shop asking for an inspection. Surprisingly, they gave me a new iPhone because of the guarantee and I still use it now which is approximately eight years. This not only helps reduce electronic waste but also saves money by an average of years of use. In conclusion, there are many significant reasons why consumers opt for well-known companies when they would like to buy new phones or clothes. The most popular reason is the brand's reputation from their feedback, and it is a beneficial trend as it probably decreases the number of unwanted gadgets.