Some people say that the purpose of education is to prepare individuals to be useful to society. Others say its purpose is to prepare individuals to achieve personal ambitions. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In recent years, the purpose of education has long been a higher controversial topic. Some people think that education should help students become useful people in society. Others argue that education should focus on personal growth and development. So, in this essay, I will discuss these two views, and give my opinion. On the one hand, people could learn some professional knowledge and gain new ideas by education. In addition, these ideas and relative knowledge always have broken some fixed types of thought. It is useful to develop society. For example, an undergraduate student who studies sociology. Additionally, this person always uses academic knowledge about sociology and unique ideas to advise and support some suggestions that society has issues. On the other hand, people could acquire something from education to help them achieve their goals. To be specific, through education, a person always has more confidence than others who have not accepted education. Moreover, if a person has more confidence, he might realize his ambition easily. For instance, a recent graduate found his dream job, because studying gave him more confidence. What’s more, it made him face competition calmly. From my perspective, I believe that the aim of education is twofold. In addition, they are both important, no matter for society and individual development. Therefore, we do not ignore these two points. In conclusion, education not only makes people useful to their society but also makes people more confident, as well as confidence makes people achieve their personal dreams more easily. So I believe that both of these are significant purposes of education.