An increasing number of people are choosing cosmetic surgery/ plastic surgery. Why do people have operations to change the way they look? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Cosmetic surgery has become rampant nowadays. Many people undergo minor or major surgeries to alter their physical appearances for some personal reasons,peer pressure or have been influenced mostly by social media. I believe that this trend has disadvantages for humankind and this essay will discuss the reasons for it. First and foremost, due to the technological advances that we have,we are more capable of changing almost everything we want to boost our self-esteem. The community take greater risks in undergoing operations just to look better and feel more of themselves if they can enhance their nose, body shape or contour. Furthermore, since there are a lot of cosmetic surgeons and clinics now, public have a wide range of choices and easy access to them. Moreover, social media like TikTok, youtube also encourage their viewers to do this. For instance, if you can see an influencer endorsing a cosmetic surgeon or clinic saying that is how he or she managed to become beautiful on TV, then these followers may avail of those marketing strategies and follow the footsteps of their model. From my own perspective, this trend greatly affects one's self-esteem and developmental growth. Instead of accepting our own body and shape, many tend to compete with other folks and do more by changing who they are and becoming the person they are not. Hence, this will also lead to depression and self-identity crisis. In addition, paying for surgeries is also a waste of money. For example, instead of paying for rhinoplasty, they can use their budget for more valuable and meaningful things that will help in their study. To sum up, being contented and accepting one's self can never be denied to have a happy self and self-fulfilment. Instead of focusing on changing how we look to impress others, we must focus more on our own goals and own happiness.