Eventually, technology will solve the most important environmental problems the world faces today. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technology development is one of the key factors for all countries to be economically successful. Some people believe that such development will eliminate the current difficulties faced by the environment. I partially agree with this statement because some problems which are caused due to technology should also be considered. The primary reason behind supporting the fact that nature’s problems will be reduced by technology is because of the previous developments that have contributed to reducing some issues. To explain, air pollution in a region has reduced after electric vehicle usage is started in that location. For instance, a recent report in India indicated that after the introduction of electric vehicles, the air pollution rate fell considerably. Another key factor is that environmental degradation occurs due to the depletion of natural resources. To encounter this, research has already been started to extract the energy from renewable sources which does not cause any harm to the environment. It is, therefore, fair to stand by the side of solving important problems by the advancement in technology for such cases. However, there are a few negative impacts caused by the advancement in the technology. Firstly, the usage of electronic equipment has increased drastically. As a result, the generation of e-waste has risen which results in further damage to soil during disposal of these items. A recent survey in the USA indicates that the number of people using e-items has seen a steep rise in the recent years. Secondly, many trees are cut down for the purpose of erecting cell phone towers. If tree eradication continues to increase then it might result in several problems such as changes in the rainfall pattern etc. To conclude, views are divided on whether improvement in the new technology will solve the issues of the earth. Considering the above-mentioned arguments, it can be said that for some cases it will improve while for a few it might cause negative effects. In my opinion, technology will solve many problems until it does not affect nature in other aspects.