Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems.To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, many people argue that governments should spend more on developing roads and motorways instead of public transport systems. From my perspective, I partially agree with this assertion because public transport services and infrastructure are a vital part of traffic, but enhancing these might face some troubles. In this essay, I will discuss both views to support my opinion. On the one hand, the money allocated for improving roads, including expanding new highways, could contribute significantly to linking communities and could be the solution to serious problems in central cities. For example, investing in several highways connecting Da Nang to Thanh Hoa and Hue to Binh Duong would help connect many provinces in different regions of the country. Another instance is the expenditure for developing avenues and street roads, which might solve an urgent issue, such as traffic jams, and make it more convenient for residents to navigate traffic during rush hours. However, expanding tracks is challenging due to financial constraints, and dealing with residents can be very complicated. On the other hand, there are obvious advantages to the public transport system, such as subways or railways, which can transport more people and goods, be a necessary part of emissions reduction, and save on shipping costs. However, the cost of implementing new transport systems is considerable. For example, the investment budget for the Cat Linh - Ha Dong sky train is 63 million dollars, and the North-South high-speed railway project requires up to 60 billion dollars. If political leaders do not allocate funds for these projects, businesses and local governments may struggle to invest due to the substantial amount of money required. In conclusion, improving urban transport services and roads can be deployed, but it comes with many challenges. However, both approaches would bring a lot of benefits to the community. Therefore, I partially agree with that statement.