Do you think that advertising encourages people to buy things that they don’t want?

Manufacturers and service providers often are eager to have their products and services being purchased by their targeted audience. This they achieve by using different schemes which include advertisement. Hence, the role of public exhibition of goods and services in order to make people purchase them, is considered to be remarkable. This effect is being frowned at, as it is thought to persuade customers to purchase items which they have no need of. In my opinion, I do not think that this is true because of some reasons which will be stated in this essay. Every product satisfies a particular desire regardless of how mundane or rational the desire may be. Most people procure things they feel is necessary for them. When a product is advertised, an individual decides to acquire such product when they feel it has addressed what they want. For example, an elderly couple watching television may come across a commercial talking about skateboards; they may not need it but because they have been thinking of providing a playing tool for their grandson, they may decide to buy it. At the time of purchasing this skateboard, they agreed to go on with the procurement because it met a certain need they had. Some adverts are usually targeted at a paricular audience. If an advert which is meant for a specific group of people convinces someone in that group to buy the product being promoted, then it is not a waste as the product will most likely be used by the individual. Take for example, adverts for beauty products which may be targeted at young females may be helpful in acquiring the right items for one's beauty regimen. If this products have not been publicised, customers may not realise their need for it. In conclusion, advertising goods and services have some positive effects and usually may not cause impulsive buying.