Today, more and more people are leaving rural areas to live in the city. Discuss some effects of rural recession and the cause of this

In the novel “Of Mice and Men”, George takes the life of his friend. In my opinion, killing Lennie was inevitable, as it meant freeing them from the run from one place to another and also in some way giving peace to his friend, who was like a big child. Throughout the story, we notice how much he cares about Lennie’s well-being. On multiple occasions we were able to see how easier life would be for George if not for travelling with a friend: “I could get along so easy and so nice if I didn't have you on my tail”. Sometimes George even acted like his father, strict, but caring. I think, even the last scene was his act of mercy, as somewhere deep in his soul he always knew that there was no such place, where Lennie would be welcome. He knew that people from town wouldn’t be leaving them in peace and Curley would find them no matter where they were to get revenge. So by shooting him, he saved him from a crueler fate that was waiting for him in case he would get into the ranch's people. Despite that, there was a possibility to go on another run and again search for a place to stay, hiding from Curley. This action had huge risks and in case they were caught together both of them would be killed without any chance for explanation. Also, even if they would succeed this wouldn't mean that the same thing won't happen all over again, like it did in Weed. Therefore it would simply prolong their sufferings. In conclusion, I believe that we can justify what he did, as in the unforgiving world they lived in, there will be no more place for them to live calmly, because in the end “ ever’body in the whole damn world is scared of each other”