Countries should produce the food that their population eats, and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons, examples to your answer.

Alimentary production is a huge file around the world. Every country grows different types of food which is consumed in their own population. However, there are some products that can't be made on their grounds; therefore, some need to be imported. In my opinion, it's very beneficial to consume the meal produced in their areas and avoid the necessity of buying it from other countries. I think this way for several reasons that I will explain in the following paragraphs. First of all, when societies get their groceries from their own area, it is going to be cheaper because companies are charging just for the production and for a few miles of transportation. On the other hand, if the population get their stuff that has been imported, it is going to be way expensive. For example, in my country, we produce a lot of coffee. 1 lb of " Juan Valdez" coffee cost $5 over there. Yet, if I buy it in the USA, the same pound costs $50. Secondly, if all the communities buy their snacks from the farmers around them, they are helping to support them economically. If all of their growths are sold fast, they will make more money and meats is not going to be wasted. On the contrary, if we get more products from other countries, our labourers are going to be worried about their production, and they are not going to be able to sell them and get the money that they deserve. For instance, in 2012 Colombia signed a deal with the USA about importing milk. Colombia is a country with many dairy farms, so, we didn't need that deal. Many growers had to throw away tons of milk because nobody was buying it, and it was getting bad. To conclude, societies should consume the majority of food from their countries because this helps them by getting groceries at a better price and better quality. Also, this improves the economy of their area by helping their farmers to sell everything they have grown.