When we meet someone for the first time, we generally decide very quickly what kind of person we think they are and if we like them or not. Is this a good thing or a bad thing? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Needless to say, it is generally said that the first impression of a person is the last impression. As of this, many individuals not only start judging the personality of others during their first meeting but also develop their opinions about the nature and behaviour of others. I honestly consider this kind of judgement as a poor mentality of society. First of all, it is quite common among several people that they decide very quickly the attitude of a person standing in front of them through that person's looks even though they have not met him or her yet. This misleads these judgemental individuals about someone's real nature and attitude. Secondly, creating anybody's false perception only after interacting one time may lead to less social environment. For example, some introverts are quite shy to open up with strangers during their initial meetings as they can not express themselves openly and talk less. Therefore, the person on the other side may start thinking that that introverted person is quite rude and this may end up developing a situation of having fewer social conversations among them in future. In addition, although your initial instincts about the behaviours of your colleagues, batchmates, or neighbours may help you to decide whether you should like them or not, there might be also similar chances of your wrong decision. For instance, students who belong to rich families mostly do not prefer to study or play with the students who do not wear new clean dresses or have expensive gadgets to play with. However, these rich classmates are not aware of the reality of their peers. As a result, this limits the social circle of these poor students even though they are intelligent. To conclude, it is usually society's attitude to judge someone during the initial meeting about what kind of that person is. Nevertheless, it is a bad thing which should be stopped as soon as possible because most of the time this type of thinking can be wrong.