Some think most crime is the result of circumstances, eg., poverty and other social problems. Other believe that most crime is caused by people who are bad by nature. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Whether criminals are a result contributed by numerous social factors or their own characteristics is an often-debated point. While I contend that social status leads to moral degradation and direct circumstances force offenders to be illegal, some critics suggest certain people have distinctive traits that can hardly be reshaped. It is prominent that delinquency comes as a result of ethical degradation, which stems from the social status of offenders. This is to say, most people in lower castes of the social ladder usually encounter reprobates and social problems like drugs and prostitution. This guides them into a downward spiral of morality without proper intuition to lead them out, and committing a crime is the ultimate end of it. Rehabilitation centres are renowned for their ability to reform crime offenders, however, their jobs are simply to educate ethics to criminals, which surprisingly they never really get informed about, further indicating the ongoing issue concerning the downward spiral. Nevertheless, people justifying the idea of criminals being bad by nature suggest individuals have specific personalities and sets of behaviours unique to any other. To break it down, if people are naturally born to be bad, this will progress into detrimental behaviours later on. This personality cannot be shaped, thus, leading to possible crime offences. While this point has validity, it has underacknowledged the role of education. If properly educated, a person can still know the foundations of moral behaviour and will be able to impede their own characteristics so as to be citizens of society. In my viewpoint, most people commit crimes because they are forced to. A lot of criminal cases suggest the reason behind this is social problems directly relating to their lives, like poverty or tension. At the time of the offence, however good they are as a person, their morality simply got overforced by the problems, which they failed to impede. Hence, this writer is swayed by social problems. In retrospect, while critics argue personalities cannot be reshaped, proponents including myself suggest moral degradation, foundations, and forced actions advocate the role of social problems in driving criminals into illegal activities. Hence, this essay should have proven that people commit crimes not by nature but from social influence.