Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The accessibility for people to purchase the same products from all around the world, affects the increasing similarities between each nation, nowadays. From my perspective, this is a negative development for the countries. In the following essay, this opinion will be discussed. In fact, the phenomenon of increasing similarities between each country is caused by the advancement of technology. The technology helps people to buy products from around the world by using an application called e-commerce on their smartphone. However, this circumstance is a negative development that can be a domino effect as well for the small businesses in the countries. Firstly, it can affect the decline of a country’s identity. For instance, Indonesia is unique because of the variety in cultural behaviour such as using a kebaya or batik for a formal event. Then, due to this circumstance, people might use Western suits that they have bought because of the technology. Therefore, it will affect the country’s identity and experience a decline since people from all places in the world will use the same fashion style. Furthermore, the decline of the country’s identity can affect the small businesses that are selling cultural or traditional products to the market. This is because people are more willing to purchase products from overseas online instead of cultural products in the market. To illustrate, in this era, K-pop is rising and all individuals in the world want to look like K-pop artists. Hence, they will purchase it from South Korea’s sellers through e-commerce. In the meantime, individuals might not interested in cultural products anymore as well as buy a product from small businesses that are selling a product which is related to the culture. In conclusion, I believe that the phenomenon of countries becoming alike with others due to the ease of shopping products overseas is a negative development. It is because this circumstance can lead to several consequences such as the decline of the country’s identity and the possibility of cultural extinction.