Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic. It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The discussion about whether or not punishment is necessary to teach children about right and wrong at an early age is a very controversial one. Some people say that, punishing children is needed to discipline them, while others believe that, it should not be the only solution. However, to a greater extent, I disagree with the statement for a bunch of plausible reasons. There are so many good reasons that can lead one to go the opposite of the statement. Firstly, punishment triggers harmful psychological and physiological responses. Punishments such as spanking, slapping and other forms of physical punishment does not work well in correcting a child’s behaviour. In fact, I believe, that punishment often fails to stop and can even increase the occurrence of wrong behaviour. Another point is that, as early as age two or three, children can already know or feel the difference between right and wrong. Moreover, Children who face consequences for their wrongdoings often tend to be stubborn and exclude themselves from society. On the other hand, giving them consequences for doing such actions is another way to teach them. For instance, if a teacher failed a student for plagiarism then it could prevent the student from future plagiarism. However, punishment should not be seen as intended to harm the children or express anger since it might lead to aggressive actions. For example, teachers could be strict for plagiarism but they can give high marks for good research. To conclude, in some situations, punishment is necessary to prevent students from misbehavior. However, if parents could teach children by giving reason and advice, punishment might not be required.