In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Statistics in many countries show the population of elderly people has increased during the last decade because of the fact that people are living longer than they used to. There are so many considerations about the increasing population of elder people and the results of it in society. This essay will evaluate the idea that the advantages of having an elderly population outweigh its drawbacks due to advantages like learning about their life experiences and hearing stories of history from live witnesses. The experience of living as a human being is an extraordinary happening for each person and never can be repeated again. Each living experience is valuable due to its novelty and worth to listening and learning from. The elder people can be a precious population of societies due to their valuable experiences in their golden age which had passed. However, as a result of ageing, they can suffer from different medical issues, but their valuable knowledge of life outweighs their medical costs in society. Consequently, this spreading of their life experience will help many youths to understand what kind of obstacles they can face in their lives and how to make better decisions and learn from their mistakes. On the other hand, this population also plays a significant role in the family. Additionally, it can be said that they have a strong bond for putting their families together. For instance, my family used to be invited to family gatherings every weekend by my grandfather in his house. Since he passed away, we have never gathered around that way. Furthermore, elder people play a significant role in conservating the history that they witnessed and they have a strong impact on their grandchildren's upbringing. However, besides these beneficial roles that they play in the family, they gain so much time from their families helping them with their issues that relate to their ageing. In a nutshell, it's true that the elderly population have experienced a massive rise in the last decade. However, this can cause some problems for their families and cost full for society, their advantages such as being a strong bond for family and their experiences outweigh their disadvantages.