Every year several languages die out, some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

A number of languages become extinct yearly. Some individuals consider this unimportant as they say that life would be easier if there were fewer dialects all around the world. I completely disagree with this idea because not only do languages represent the identity of people but they also are crucial elements of communication. Many languages are endangered these days and it is of great importance to save them. however, languages make up a bulk of their holders’ identity which means that preventing them from dying out also means saving the lives of their native speakers. Besides, If an accent vanishes, the heritage and customs of that specific community die with it as well. For example, many African languages are no longer spoken and no one knows that some of them once existed. Another reason is that languages are fundamental parts of communication in a society. That is to say, language extinction is not a fast process and it normally happens when the last speaker of that language dies and once it happens, the process cannot be undone. In other words, if a language disappears, many eminent and important members of that society can be easily forgotten and their voices would not be heard as no one can understand what remnants of their writings or their books say. For example, many ancient manuscripts are not deciphered yet just because not a single person knows the language. In conclusion, I disagree that disappearing languages do not need to be preserved and I think saving them is rescuing the culture and all the mysteries lying inside it.