Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some governments addicted to boosting the economy in their country. However, there are opposite views. In my opinion, governments are not only economic growth but could do much more to improve different issues. There are key reasons why economic growth is seen as a fundamental goal for countries. Firstly, a healthy economy results in job creation, a high level of employment, and better salaries for all citizens. Secondly, economic progress ensures that more money is available for governments to spend on infrastructure and public services. For instance, a government with high revenues can invest in the country's transport network, education system and hospitals. Finally, a strong economy can help a country's standing on the global stage, in terms of political influence and trading power. However, I would argue that various other forms of progress are just as significant as the economic factors mentioned above. Additionally, governments should consider the areas of social justice, human rights, equality and democracy. For example, the treatment of minority groups is often been ignored by moral standards that governments can set laws to stand for them. Another key consideration is how to make it environment friendly. Improving the progress of the modern country usually produces pollution; therefore, governments have a responsibility to move towards environmental sustainability. Thus, the success of a nation could be measured by looking at the health, well-being and happiness of residents. In conclusion, the economy is obviously a key maker of a country's success, but human rights, eco-environment and healthcare are equally vital and significant.