There is an increasing trend that many parents tend to educate their children at home rather than send them to school. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages?

Instead of sending children to traditional schools, homeschooling tends to be a more popular option among parents. This modern trend brings benefits and causes problems to the education system and personal well-being as well. From my perspective, it has more disadvantages than advantages for individuals and society. First off, homeschooling will diminish children ’s social development, since children are confined at home most of the time hence they would miss out on opportunities to interact with peers or cultivate relationships with teachers, because they do not attend school physically. Even worse is that children are unable to fit into a wider society in the future. Additionally, the curriculum may not be customized for students on different academic levels since most parents usually are not equipped with comprehensive and professional education backgrounds so education quality cannot be ensured. Accordingly, as they are not all-round talent, if their teaching method is not accepted or has effective impacts on their children, this will pose some new challenges to the guardians, mentally and physically. Finally, most families lack teaching facilities and space, which can be provided commonly in traditional schools, but if purchasing them individually, usually it’s unaffordable and difficult to maintain. It is true that the upside of homeschooling should not be neglected. For children, they can be educated in a way that caters for their hobbies instead of cramming education in school, which can stimulate their potential to study. Furthermore, studying at home will not cause pressure on being bullied or social anxiety in school, the learning atmosphere will be purer. For parents, they can offer sufficient companionship to their children, and tie a strong family bond with each other. For the education system and schools, this will reduce their financial pressure and alleviate the disparity of educational resources. However, the advantage cannot trade off its disadvantages. Since it is still illegal in most parts of the world, governments and authorities should establish a sound education system with supervision. When weighing in pros and cons, I still reaffirm my view that the demerits outnumber its demerits. This is primarily because the mode is still unmatured and its benefits cannot outweigh its disadvantages.