It is suggested that primary children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Many argue that growing plants and looking after pets should be among the activities that children do in primary school. I believe it has more benefits than downsides. Children can learn to care for living things other than humans and also, they can gain a lot of knowledge about plants and animals that might come in handy one day. However, some of the parents are afraid of the dangers that come with these tasks. Firstly, to take care of a tree, or even a cat, children must do a lot of research about them, what environment they need to prepare and moreover, what to feed them. So, they learn too much about animals and plants in general and it will help them in the future especially if they become a harvester or animal keeper. Furthermore, every step they take to know their plant better, reinforces the sense of caring for another being, in the child which consequently, will lead to a more responsible and caring person in his adulthood. For instance, studying pet owners' brain images, scientists have proven that their brain areas specific to caring and social part taking, is much more stronger than that of the ordinary people. Thus, it is a great practice for children to look after other beings it teaches them a lot. On the other hand, parents are really worried about the possible consequences these lessons will bring for the children. Plants and animals usually live in the wild and so, to interact with them, children have to deal with a lot of bacteria and microbes and thus, they are more prone to get sick. Also, plants and animals usually die at early age and because children are so kind and vulnerable, it might leave them heartbroken for the rest of their lives. For example, I have heard stories about my cousin's childhood when he lost his dog. He was so attached to his dog that he became depressed and still after more than a decade, he sometimes remembers his late dog and gets sad. Hence, dealing with animals and vegetables will also pose some threats to our physical and mental health. To conclude, a lot of parents disagree with the idea of their children having to take care of a pet or even a bush. But, I think the probability of getting sick from your own pet, if you take them to the vets regularly, is tiny and therefore, should not be of their concern. Also, giving up on so many advantages such as gaining knowledge and becoming responsible, just for this small chance of getting sick, is wrong.