The death penalty is the best way to control and reduce serious crime. to what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, several types of crimes are punished by the law in different ways. One of the most debatable among these is the death penalty, which is perceived as the best answer to manage horrendous acts, such as murder and rape. I believe this should be the case because this may instil fear in individuals who will attempt such acts, also, a longer sentence would not guarantee released criminals from re-offending. If the government were to resort to the death penalty for murders and rapists, it would make people hesitate to commit these wrongdoings. Firstly, a split-of-second loss of control could result in losing their life from killing someone out of spite and taking advantage of someone, sexually. This can be seen in the past, when offenders were ridiculed and considered inhumane by the public, and then eventually they were electrocuted or beheaded in front of everyone; because of this sight, there was fewer number of these types of criminals. Moreover, the volume of re-offenders after their parole is still increasing at this time as they feel that they are no longer welcomed by society. This shows that there is no assurance that their long stay in prison is the perfect remedy to this issue. Although they are encouraged to develop skills behind the cell to potentially find a place outside, the judgement and discrimination they experience from people might trigger their emotional state, which could lead to another murder. Especially, if being inside the prison would not require them to work and try to fit in the society. In conclusion, it appears that one major reason why a lot of criminals re-offend is due to a lack of belongingness outside the bars, and as far as I'm concerned, the death penalty must be enforced to somewhat alarm the public of what could be the consequences of their actions.